American Not Allowed in Europe

American Travelers Not Allowed in Europe


Travelers from the United States will not be allowed in European Union countries when it reopens on Wednesday, July 1. The European Council released its unanimous decision establishing a list of “safe travel destinations” consisting of fifteen (15) countries on Tuesday, June 30. This list of accepted travelers will be revised every two weeks to align with the regional ebb and flow of COVID-19. Specifically, EU officials examined at least the following scientific factors to determine which countries are “safe”:


  • Low COVID-19 infection rate (<16 people infected per 100,000);
  • A downward trend of cases; and
  • “Sufficient” social distancing measures.


Based on these factors, it appears that American travelers won’t be allowed to travel to the EU until its COVID-19 cases decline considerably. For instance, according to the Center for Disease Control, the COVID-19 infection rate in the United States is 787.5 people infected per 100,000 of the general population as of June 30, 2020. The United States also has the most COVID-19 cases and deaths of any country, so it is no surprise that the EU is erring on the side of caution by prohibiting travel from America. Brazil and Russia sit second and third on the list of most COVID-19 cases and deaths, and therefore Brazilian and Russian travelers are also excluded from the safe travel destinations list.


Countries on the safe travel destinations list include China, Australia, Japan, and Canada, among others. Five Non-EU countries—Switzerland, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and the UK are not on the list but are deemed “safe.” Notably, the European Council’s list of safe travel destinations is non-binding and it is therefore up to each individual member of the EU to enforce travel restrictions.


If you want to learn more or read the full list of countries, click here for the full BBC article.